MSE 2016 - Full Program

Back to overview

Highlight Lecture

Non-platinum electrocatalysts for anion exchange membrane fuel cells (AEM-FCs)

Tuesday (27.09.2016)
16:30 - 16:45
Part of:

Alkaline Anion Exchange Membranes (AEMs) for fuel cells have been rapidly developed. Latest improvements done in this technology are impressive, and some of the new developed AEMs already reached anion conductivities close to those of proton conducting Nafion for PEM-FCs. In the past three years an increasing number of research work has been published, showing that performance of AEM-FCs is getting higher and very promising. However, in spite of the potential hope of alkaline AEM-FCs to replace Pt metal for another less expensive electrocatalysts, there is no work showing AEM-FCs based on electrodes with zero-loading of Pt electrocatalyst. While with high loadings of non-Pt catalysts for ORR it was possible to replace Pt at the cathode, the kinetics of HOR in alkaline medium seems to be so slow in AEM-FCs [1-2], that to replace Pt at the anode electrode is very challenging, and normally high Pt-loadings has been used in this technology. Today, these facts are not so widely recognized and studied. Whereas research on ORR electrocatalysts in the alkaline medium has only recently begun, studies on HOR electrocatalysts for AEM-FCs still constitute an entirely unexplored field.

In this talk the state-of-the-art of AEM-FC will be presented, including latest studies on electrocatalysts as well as a new non-Pt electrocatalyst that has the potential to replace platinum [5].


[1] W. Sheng, H. A. Gasteiger and Y. Shao-Horn, J. Electrochem. Soc., 2010, 157, B1529

[2] J. Durst, A. Siebel, C. Simon, F. Hasche, J. Herranz and H. A. Gasteiger, Energy Environ. Sci., 2014, 7, 2255

[3] J. R. Varcoe, P. Atanassov, D. R. Dekel, A. M. Herring, M. A. Hickner, P. A. Kohl, A. R. Kucernak, W. E. Mustain, K. Nijmeijer, K. Scott, T. Xu, and L. Zhuang, Energy Environ. Sci., 2014, 7, 3135

[4] D. R. Dekel, ECS Transactions, 2013, 50 (2), 2051

[5] H. A. Miller, A. Lavacchi, F. Vizza, M. Marelli, F. Di Benedetto, F. D’Acapito, Y. Paska, M. Page and D. R. Dekel; Angew. Chem. 128, 6108-6111, 2016.

Prof. Dr. Dario Dekel
Technion - Israel Institute of Technology